• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,037 other followers

Seen Dancing

Thanks to Frank Parker for nominating me for the “Three Quotes for Three Days” challenge.

The rules of the challenge are:

  1. Three quotes for three days.
  2. Three nominees each day (no repetition).
  3. Thank the person who nominated you.
  4. Inform the nominees.

I’m doing a two fer today:

  1. “And those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music.” — Friedrich Nietzsche
  2. “You know, they say when you talk to God it’s prayer, but when God talks to you, it’s schizophrenia.” — Fox Mulder, X-Files

Those quotes suit writers perfectly. We hear and see things that don’t exist and then write about them.

Most of my stories began with my imagination getting away with me.

My short story, Storm Lake, is a perfect example of that. The more I looked at the misshapen trees around our cottage, the more I saw monsters waiting to be born. When we went canoeing to the south end of the lake, a dead ringer for The Dead Marshes in The Lord of the Rings, I all but saw the grey, skeletal arm rising out of the water to grip the back of our boat.

Fun times.

Add in some psychic ability, which has at various times had me not just sensing but seeing spirits, and you could say I’m dancing to my own tune.

Good thing I love it.

I nominate:

Ian D. Moore

Eric Lahti

Susan Faw

 

 

3 Responses

  1. […] to Val Tobin for nominating me for the “Three Quotes for Three Days” challenge. The rules of the challenge […]

  2. […] to Val Tobin for nominating me for the “Three Quotes for Three Days” challenge. The rules of the challenge […]

  3. […] to Val Tobin for nominating me for the “Three Quotes for Three Days” challenge. The rules of the challenge […]

Leave a Reply

