• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,030 other followers

X is for X-Files #atozchallenge

Anyone who knows me knows I’m a huge X-Files fan. I loved the show even after they jumped the sharks and even after Mulder left. Thankfully, he returned, but in the meantime, I didn’t mind Doggett. Casting the terminator as a new partner for Scully was a genius move.

To this date, though, I haven’t seen the new episodes. I’d like to, but we don’t have cable, the Fox site only allows those in the US to view them, and I don’t get into pirating. I figure I’ll eventually get to see them on Neflix.

In the meantime, I pay homage to the show in little ways:

  • We named our cat Scully. Yes, the cat is a “he” but he’s mostly orange, so, yeah. Scully.
  • I named Carolyn’s cat in The Experiencers Fox.
  • In Walk-In, Viktoria has a cat named Walter.

I enjoy planting little Easter eggs like that in my novels. As a reader or viewer, I enjoy discovering them in books, movies, or TV shows. I love playing with tiny details that add a sense of fun to the reading experience.

2 Responses

  1. I love those little details, too. This is from the first chapter of Transgression (which I just posted on Lucinda’s First Chapter FB group): ‘“A successful evening,” Connie said. He had his back to Roger, opening the car’s boot. Roger pushed the cottage door open. Warm air met him, accompanied by Suzie, their Siamese.

    “Leave those until morning,” Roger said. “Come in out of this rain.” A heavy drizzle greased the road surface and cast halos around the street lights. Roger heard the clunk of the boot closing. Suzy rubbed her flanks against his trouser leg. He squatted to stroke her and winced at the pain from his hip as he stood.’

    To my shame I never did get to include Suzie in any subsequent scene.

  2. X-Files was something I didn’t get to see when it first aired. I don’t now if we had Fox or not or if my parents just said no. It’s on Netflix and Hulu now so I’ve been watching it.

    ~Ninja Minion Patricia Lynne aka Patricia Josephine~
    Story Dam
    Patricia Lynne, Indie Author

Leave a Reply

