• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,037 other followers

T is for Time #AtoZChallenge

There’s never enough time when you write.

I’d thought that because I’d be my own timekeeper there wouldn’t be any time pressure. Ha. Good one.

If you schedule an editor, you must have the manuscript ready in time. Want to have preorders on your books? Ya, there’s a deadline.

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) exists to put time pressure on writers. It’s a good way to get 50,000 words written.

The A to Z Challenge this month is the time monkey on my back.

What I’ve discovered after participating in things like NaNo is that I need that deadline time crunch. When I have unfettered time stretching out before me, I let things slide. If I set a deadline, even if it’s arbitrary and impacts only me, I get things done.

It’s simple, but it’s not easy.

When I was working on my master’s thesis, I’d wanted it completed by January. My timeline kept slipping away from me. But despite that, I plugged away at it, because as January slid into February and then March, I felt the anxiety of missing my target dates. By April, I’d had enough, cleared everything else from my calendar, and completed it.

My to do list is daunting, but I’m looking forward to knocking a few more projects off it by the beginning of the summer. By then, I’ll probably start another novel. I can’t seem to help myself.

Maybe I enjoy feeling frazzled.

 

2 Responses

  1. I hear ya! I’m the queen of procrastination and I definitely need deadlines in order to get things done.

    Stopping by from the A-Z.

    Michele at Angels Bark

  2. I like deadlines to manage my commitments. But I hate how some things are put on the sidelines when pushing toward meeting deadlines. Now that the A to Z Challenge is over I’ve regained a little time.

Leave a Reply

