• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,030 other followers

R is for Reiki #atozchallenge

In October 2004 I received my Reiki Master/Teacher certifications. It was a long journey from the first class I attended to get my Level I attunements to that final moment when I received my Level III certificate.

I’d been skeptical, which was why I went to the Level I class. The cost for a Reiki treatment and Level I attunements were almost the same, so I figured I’d look under the hood while experiencing it to examine how it runs.

Reiki, for those who don’t know, is an intelligent, universal life-force energy that flows where it is needed the most when channelled by an attuned practitioner. That means a practitioner directs the energy through his/her hands into the client, and the Reiki directs itself from there to wherever it needs to go.

I was sure it was new-age hooey, but figured I could give open-mindedness a shot.

It wasn’t easy.

When our teacher talked about how Mikao Usui discovered Reiki while fasting on a mountain, I figured his discovery had more to do with needing a burger than it did with mysticism.

But she also told us that you don’t need belief for Reiki to work. I was surprised, because I had expected her to say that if you believe, it’ll work. This way, if it doesn’t work, they can tell you it’s because you don’t believe enough.

The instructor also explained how channelling Reiki feels. She told us to expect our hands to heat up and tingle. But she also cautioned that not everyone feels something, which doesn’t mean it’s not working.

Convenient, I thought. There was my red flag. It was like the Emperor and his clothes. Trust they’re there. He’s not naked. You just can’t see them because you’re flawed.

Fully expecting not to feel anything, I went along with it all anyway. Why not? I’d already paid my money and was amongst nice people. I could relax and go through the motions of receiving attunements and laying my hands on my partner during the practice sessions.

Imagine my surprise when my hands, which are always freezing, heated up to the point of throbbing. When I was channelling Reiki, my hands tingled so much they vibrated. Now I started paying more attention.

What I discovered was that it worked for me. I decided to continue on with the training and received Level II then went on to Level III (the Master/Teacher level). In that time, I experienced things I can’t explain.

In The Valiant Chronicles, one of my main characters, Carolyn Fairchild, is a Reiki Master/Teacher.

Warning: some spoilers follow.

In one scene, Carolyn sends Reiki to Torque, Michael’s partner. Wounded, possibly dying or already dead, Torque has been stuffed into the trunk of the car she and Michael are in. While Carolyn understands Michael did this to Torque in self-defence and to save her, she can’t accept Michael’s decision not to get Torque medical attention. Her solution is to send him Reiki:

Carolyn stared out the window and thought about Torque in the trunk of the car. The least she could do was help him by sending him some Reiki.

She put her hands together and mentally went through the process of sending distance Reiki to Torque. She caught Michael staring.

“Are you praying?” he asked.

“No. If you must know, I’m sending distance Reiki to Torque.”

“Dare I ask?”

“Ask away. Reiki is a universal life force energy. It’s intelligent and goes where needed. If Torque isn’t dead, it’ll send him healing energy. If he’s dead, it’ll help his spirit.”

Michael didn’t comment.

“You think that’s crazy, don’t you?” Carolyn asked.

“I didn’t say that.”

“But you think so, don’t you?”

“I don’t buy into this new-age stuff. Sorry, but it doesn’t make sense, and there’s no scientific evidence it does anything.”

“Actually, there is. Studies have been done. I don’t care if you approve. It’s something I can do.”

Despite all he’s witnessed, Michael is a skeptic when it comes to spiritual and paranormal events. That part of me that went into the Reiki Level I came alive in Michael. His growth over the course of The Valiant Chronicle novels is more than emotional. It’s a spiritual journey as well.

It’s a journey we’re all taking.

4 Responses

  1. Evidently a woman of many talents! As for me, I remain sceptical about all ‘paranormal’ claims/processes.

  2. I had one Reiki treatment, and I’d like another. I know a guy who is a Reiki Master. So I’ll go to him.

    Piper Presley
    R is for Reviews: Blogging From A to Z
    http://www.presleyromance.com/blog/reviews-blogging-from-a-to-z-challenge

  3. I’ve had enough experience with reiki to avoid it. Occultism isn’t my thing.
    Melanie Schulz from
    Melanie Schulz.com

Leave a Reply

