• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,037 other followers

E is for eBooks #atozchallenge

I’m reading more eBooks these days, though I still prefer paperbacks and hardcovers.

My spike in eBook reading is the result of getting a new tablet, which makes eBook reading easier and more convenient. Before, I was using my PC, and, while it has a nice, big screen, it’s uncomfortable.

I’m already hunched over my keyboard all day working, so I’d rather get my eyes off the screen when I’m reading for pleasure, research, or work (which, let’s face it, can all be lumped under pleasure if it involves reading).

While I’d never take my tablet down to the dock to read, I love using it when I work out on the elliptical trainer, when travelling, and when reading in bed at night with the lights off. It gives me access to hundreds of books and fits into a purse.

Most of the eBooks I read are by indie authors. I think out of the hundreds I’ve got available on my tablet now, only one is by a famous author.

Why? Because eBooks by traditionally published authors are priced too high.

Every once-in-a-while I’ll read some article saying that eBook sales are declining and people are returning to print. I suspect it’s mostly those who are involved in traditional publishing that are seeing this decline and lamenting it. Yet every time they whine about this, it’s pointed out that since they price their eBooks the same as or greater than their paperbacks, well, duh. I’m not even going to finish that thought.

When it comes to big-name traditionally published authors, I read the paperback or hardcover. Typically, I can find whatever I want at the library or in a used bookstore or at a friend’s house or at the book exchange. If I love it, I’ll buy it new and add it to my collection.

What’s wonderful about this situation is that the big five publishers have removed themselves as competition for our reading dollars when it comes to eBooks. They don’t participate in KS, so almost all the books in KU/KOLL are by indie authors. If someone is searching for a book to add to their eReader, prices for indie-authored books are far more reasonable.

A goldmine of well-written indie books exists. You just have to dig, and when you find an author you like, they usually have multiple books available. Many have the first in the series set to permafree, so you can try out the author risk free.

It’s a wonderful time to be addicted to reading.

4 Responses

  1. I enjoyed your post and rationale about when and how you use your tablet for reading eBooks. I’m an avid reader, writer and author and probably a little too old school for eBooks. I love physical books but have been know to read an eBook or two in my time, most though, it’s when I have to.

  2. Well said! I too find I read on my phone now-a-days more than print. Mostly it’s for convenience as I always seem to have my phone around.

  3. I agree with you. I believe publishers will say whatever they want to dissuade us from not buying their overpriced books. I still love the feel of a book (used) in my hands.

    Im blogging from Fill the cracks and Moondustwriter’s Blog. Happy A to Zing!

  4. As a fellow indie author I’d like to say this was a great post. My Kindle is a ‘Keyboard’ model which is no longer made so I’ll most likely invest in a ‘Fire’ or somesuch when the time comes.
    I have shelves full of ‘famous’ authors, but my present TBR is 35 and, only two are by well-known writers. I’m with you on your train of thought. 🙂

Leave a Reply

