• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,030 other followers

A is for Achievement #atozchallenge

I wanted to start the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge with something positive. Today was a big day for me, so I thought I’d blog about achievement.

This morning, I submitted my master’s thesis, called “The After-Effects of Near Death Experience,” for approval. As long as the required corrections aren’t too severe, I should have my master’s degree in parapsychology soon.

It’s been a long, tough slog.

I’ve been working on this for almost five years, first on the courses that fulfill the programme requirements, and then on the master’s thesis. Not having it looming over my head anymore feels surreal but exciting.

Five years ago, when I first considered enrolling in the masters programme, the prospect of the huge amount of work and time it would consume daunted me. But someone once said to me that the time will pass whether you do something or not, so I committed to getting the degree.

The time passed, and now the goal is within reach.

I couldn’t have done it without the support of my family, especially my husband. But I’d never have gotten here if I hadn’t started and then persevered. There were days when I couldn’t stand the thought of how far I still had to go, but I forced myself to concentrate on the thing I had to do right then to keep the momentum going, even if it was just to inch along.

It’s easier to achieve a long-term goal if you keep the end in sight, but focus on each step you have to take to get there.

Yet I find that as soon as one goal has been achieved, I’m already eyeing the next one. While I’ll have to wait a while before I can dive into the Ph.D. programme, I’ve got a couple of novels that need my attention. One is almost ready to go to my editor, the other is in first draft and needs me to read through and revise.

So, onward and upward.

7 Responses

  1. Onward and upward is right. Congratulations. I recently graduated in December with just my BA in history, one day I’ll be in your shoes.

    Jazminn
    Under Jazminn Skyes

  2. Wow! All this and all the writing you do plus supporting other writers in so many on and off-line groups! Some achievement iindeed. You must be very proud.
    @fparkerswords
    Frank Parker’s Author Site

  3. I’m delighted for you Val, and it surprises me even more when I think of all the tips and tricks you find time to post for the benefit of others.
    I like your theory about keeping the end in sight and focusing on each step.
    As an ex-long distance runner I reckon you’ve got it spot on. When you run a half-marathon or marathon it isn’t sufficient to believe you can do it – you must work from the first step to the last, and when you succeed then you celebrate.

  4. […] of the reasons I focused on the after-effects of near-death experience (NDE) for my master’s thesis and not on proving or disproving NDEs, was because the after-effects are tangible. Studies have […]

Leave a Reply

